Mid-April 2024

Freevee gets a big (and good!) videogame adaptation

My plan for the Subspace newsletter, assuming it takes off, is to do a big one at the start of the month, and then a mid-month update newsletter, to catch up on whatever I might have missed in the big newsletter. So here’s the first mid-month update!

Fallout on Freevee

I was pleasantly surprised to see Amazon’s new science fiction show Fallout show up on Freevee. At least for the moment. If it’s still on Freevee in May, I’ll write more about it. For now, I’ll just say it is apparently popular with fans of the videogame franchise that it is based on and also with people who haven’t played the game. (I am in the latter category.) Also, they apparently shot the show on old-fashioned film! So it looks great.

Also on Freevee...

Actor Michael Emerson shows up in Fallout, which reminded me that Lost is also available on Freevee.

Alan Tudyk’s Con Man is not technically science fiction, but it is definitely sci-fi adjacent. And funny.

Elsewhere…

Colossal has a cool concept and a solid cast. Maybe I will finally get around to watching it now that it’s on Tubi.

Also on Tubi, ’90s weird sci-fi mystery classic Dark City.

The first Goosebumps movie is more fantasy than sci-fi, but it’s a lot of fun, and Jack Black is hilarious.

Oooh. I’ve been looking forward to seeing stop-motion master Phil Tippett’s Mad God, and now it’s available on Hoopla.

Outland is a pretty good ’80s sci-fi take on High Noon, with Sean Connery, Peter Boyle, and a score by the great Jerry Goldsmith.

The Land That Time Forgot (1974) starts off as a submarine movie and turns into a lost-world-with-dinosaurs movie. What’s not to like?

Melancholia is a when-worlds-collide movie that avoids the usual adventure and heroics and instead embraces the doom and gloom. I dig it.

From Beyond is a weird (and kinky) H.P. Lovecraft adaptation, with Jeffery Combs, Barbara Crampton, and Ken Foree.

And as I’m writing this, all of the stuff I mentioned in the early April newsletter is still available, too.

Thanks for reading! (And I’m still looking for feedback, so don’t hesitate to reach out and let me know what you like and don’t like about the newsletter so far.)